Derek Hough Tidbits on ‘Make Your Move’ & Fun Instagram Video!

Check out this great interview called “5 Ways to Make Your Move with Derek Hough” from Backstage.com! In the article, Derek explains five important things that keeps him motivated in life and career.. and filming MAKE YOUR MOVE! We’ve posting our two favorites, but be sure to click on the link to read them all!

Derek's special message to fans about 'Make Your Move'

Derek’s special message to fans about ‘Make Your Move’

Go the extra mile.
“The character is a tapper, a hoofer, a street performer in New Orleans and I’ve never tapped before in my life,” says Hough. “It was actually one of the things that fascinated me about it and excited me because I knew it was going to force me to learn a new skill.” Although they offered to use stunt feet, it was important to Hough to do all the dancing himself. “I wanted every sound and every movement to be my own, and to be honest about it and to be true.” Hough trained for two and a half months, but luckily, since he was a drummer, picking up the rhythms was fairly easy.

Training gives you freedom.
In addition to his dance training, Hough studied theater in London. The training helped to give him freedom in his acting and dancing. “It’s really psychological, and [you learn] about yourself and being honest with yourself and true to how you feel in that moment.” He’s applied this technique to his acting, dancing, and choreography. “Whether I’m doing a routine where I want to move people, or if I want to feel moved myself, I definitely tap into those moments where it’s not just dancing or movement. It might just be a hand gesture or just a slow look, or even just the way you slightly tip your head forward. These subtleties speak volumes.”

Also check out this fun instagram that Derek posted today in honor of the release of MAKE YOUR MOVE. It’s a behind the scenes video at the filming of the video LET ME IN… you can see Duane Adler in there getting some action too! Haha!

Leave a Reply

