“Make Your Move” Contest Winners

Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 9.03.19 PM

The final results are in! Thanks to all those who participated in our Make Your Move contest. Participants had to tell us, in 200 words or less, an entertaining story of waiting to see Make Your Move or an interesting story about an experience while watching the film. Below we include the stories we enjoyed the most.

Congratulations to our winners!

Honorable Mention: (The original version was well over the requisite 200 words or less. Here is an excerpt.)
Lily G.
Grove Theatrer
Los Angeles, California

I live in Salt Lake City, UT and entered the contest through DramaFever unintentionally. The Friday before the premiere I received an email that said that I won and that BoA would be at the premiere.

We arrived an hour or two early at the theater and waited around until we could register/check-in. Then when we got into the theater we sat in the upper area. But when I asked one of the representatives whether I could take pictures of BoA’s reserved seating areas, she informed us that they’d be closer to the movie screen when they came in. So if I wanted to get better pictures, we’d have a better chance if we sat down below. So we quickly moved into about the third row in the theater. When BoA walked into the theater I literally froze. My friend kept pointing at her and saying, “Aren’t you going to take any pictures? She’s right there”.I couldn’t even say anything!! She’s been my idol since I was eleven years old, so 13 years? Almost her entire career. I couldn’t even process the fact that she was standing right in front of me. When the movie began, I couldn’t look away from where she was sitting and I was so sad when she walked out with Derek.

Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 8.56.17 PM

2nd Place: Winner of a “Make Your Move” t-shirt!
Josie D.
Fresno, California
Edwards Theaters Fresno Stadium 22 IMAX Movie Theater

The day that I went to see Make Your Movie, I had actually brought my parents as company (oh boy). At one point in the movie, it had reached a hot dance scene between BoA and Derek. Now mind you, this is actually the first time I’ve seen BoA act more sensual, especially with a partner. So I was already dying on my chair and blushing like mad, when I remember that I had brought my dad who is more of an action flick, cut-the-romance kind of guy. Even in the dark, I could see his hand shading his face from embarrassment. Meanwhile my mom was enjoying the scene in full comfort. She said it was romantic.

After the movie we talked about it and focus returned to that scene. The conversation went something like:

Dad: You know he felt up her twins right?
Mom: No he didn’t.
Dad: Okay then, he brushed up against the front of her chest!
Me: OMG, he did? BoA getting bold with Derek!!!! SNAP

Needless to say that I had maybe missed a bit of the romantic scene as I was recovering from the intensity on the chair next to me. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 8.55.46 PM

1st Place: Winner of an “Make Your Move” poster autographed by Derek Hough and Duane Adler AND a “Make Your Move” t-shirt!
Kathy B.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
AMC Eden Prairie Mall 18

The weekend MYM premiered, I went out for a Friday night family dinner and to MYM on Saturday. All through dinner, my son, Joe tried to pump me up for MYM by telling stories about how I am a Derek “fanatic”! He told of the Christmas that my entire family, unbeknownst to each other, all bought me [Derek Hough] sweatshirts or autographed pics. He enjoyed winding me up by reminiscing about the Thanksgiving we played a game where you put celebrity names in a bowl and tried to get the others to guess. Joe added Derek’s name and roared when my brother-in-law blurted out in frustration… “I don’t know who this Derek How is – I hate this guy!”

They had a laugh on me but did enjoy watching the MYM trailer after[wards].

I drove 75 miles on Saturday to Minneapolis and saw MYM twice. First alone, to savor the experience and the second time with my daughter. I waited more than a year for MYM and it didn’t disappoint! The dancing and Derek’s acting were superb. The pace was brisk and the love story was believable. Derek made a handsome romantic leading man. I am soooo excited for the DVD.

[Editors’ Note: Kathy does not have long to wait for the DVD, see here.]

One comment on ““Make Your Move” Contest Winners

Leave a Reply

